Skip to page body Home About Us Government Departments Doing Business Services I Want To...

Online Application

You may fill out and submit the form online, but both parties must appear in person to a County Clerk office location with valid ID.  The 72-hour waiting period and 90-day expiration period will begin when the license is purchased and both parties appear and sign the application before a clerk.  Please read the requirements below for further details.

Visit these links for general and local services available such as Pre-marital Education Courses in your area.

Requirements

BOTH parties must appear, together or separately, at any County Clerk location to apply. (Portions of the application process may be completed by Absentee Application if one party is unable to appear in person). Call (281) 341-8652 for additional information.

**THE APPLICATION MUST BE SIGNED IN THE PRESENCE OF COUNTY CLERK STAFF.**


$67.00 Cash, *Credit Card or Money Order
 
Marriage License Fee May Be Reduced From $67.00 To $7.00
with Valid Proof Of State Approved Pre-Marital Education Course.
 

*Payment made by credit or debit card will be charged a convenience fee
of 2.75%based on the amount of the charge ($1.00 minimum).


Must be 18 years of age or applicants under 18 must be accompanied by a legal guardian. (There are several conditions under which a person under the age of 18 may legally marry).  Call (281) 341-8652 for additional information.
Proof of age and identity (Valid drivers license, certified copy of a birth certificate with a valid photo ID, Passport, etc.).  Call (281) 341-8652 for questions regarding other acceptable forms of ID.
A divorce by either party must be final 30 days prior to APPLYING for the marriage license.
All applicants that have been issued a social security number must provide their social number to the clerk at the time the application is processed.  The actual card does not need to be presented.
Marriage Search/Copy Fee
The $21.00 Fee is non-refundable and will be applied as a Search Fee or a Certificate Production Fee when the clerk conducts a search of marriage records.

You have the option of searching the records online or at our offices in Richmond, Missouri City or Katy, and paying a per page copy fee when the customer provides the certificate number with the request. Copy cost $1.00 per page + $5.00 per certification + $1.00 vitals preservation fee per record produced.

(Example: 1 page marriage license copy = $7.00)

Prior To Applying For A Marriage License In The State Of Texas The Following Things Should Be Considered:
A license purchased in any Texas county can be used in The State Of Texas and any other state or country that will accept it. (Including: Ceremony Performed on an Aircraft, Boat or Ship Traveling in the US or International Territory.)
It may be used in any county in Texas.
The original license will be returned to you after it is filed.
The license will remain on file in the county where it was purchased.  Certified copies may be ordered from that county at any time.
When a license is purchased, it may not be used for the first 72 hours.
A District Judge may waive the waiting period if a timely request is made.
The license is valid for ninety (90) days including the date of purchase.
There is no law requiring a blood test.
For Marriage by Proxy, please call (281) 341-8652 for additional information.
Couples living as husband and wife may wish to make their marriage a matter of record without formal ceremony. Call (281) 341-8652 for additional information on an Informal Marriage Declaration.

List of Active & Retired Judges Who May Perform Marriage Ceremonies
(Scheduling & Cost Are Determined By Each Individual Judge)

List of Active & Retired Judges
Jim Richard
JP #4
Sugar Land
(281) 491-6016
Mary S. Ward
JP #1-2
Richmond
(281) 341-3742
Sam Deane
Municipal Court Judge
Jacinto City/Galena Park
(281) 530-7156
(713) 302-3161
Joel Clouser
JP #2
Missouri City
(281) 403-8080
Kenneth S. Cannata
Justice Of The Peace, Pct. 3
22333 Grand Corner Drive
Katy, Texas 77494
(281) 238-1460
Bret S. Kisluk
Municipal Court Judge
2813 West T. C. Jester
Houston, Texas 77018
(832) 277-4977
JudgeKisluk@gmail.com
James Shoemake
434th District Court
Richmond
(281) 633-7653
Beverly Mcminn
Municipal Court Associate Judge
One Troyan Drive
Meadows Place, Texas 77477
(832) 277-4977
Bonnie Fitch
Presiding Judge, City Of Arcola
(713) 227-6408
Gary Janssen
JP #1-1
3114 Rosenberg St
Needville
(832) 471-2550
Debra Champagne
Municipal City Judge
Stafford/Missouri City
(281) 208-3444
Victor Wisner
Municipal City Judge, 
Jacinto City
(832) 659-6418
(713) 468-8850

This list of active and retired judges is provided only for informational purposes by the Fort Bend County Clerk’s Office. It is not an endorsement of any particular judge, nor does it guarantee their availability to perform a ceremony.

The law also authorizes an ordained minister, rabbi, priest and other licensed officials to perform the marriage ceremony. Please consult your local telephone yellow page directory for listings. A Texas marriage license may be used anywhere in the United States, in most foreign countries (confirm with that country) and on a cruise ship, airplane and other means of transportation.

Thank you for selecting Fort Bend County to purchase your marriage license. I trust you received courtesy service by the friendly and dedicated staff.

Sincerely,
Dianne Wilson
County Clerk, Fort Bend County, Texas

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Download Acrobat Reader Download Flash Player Download QuickTime Download Windows Media Player Download AutoDesk DWF Viewer Download Microsoft Silverlight Download Word Viewer Download Excel Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer
Last updated: 12/13/2013 10:39:57 AM